Sanity is a State of Mind

 

 

Well, ok, then. Off meds for about a week now, so this post was pretty much inevitable – some of you may find it humorous (I’m trying for that), some may find it heart-breaking (not my intent, but there are things that are not in my control, and that’s one of them.)  Still others may find it enlightening, while many will find it deeply disturbing:  I congratulate the former, and sympathize with the latter – God knows, this topic disturbs the hell out of me!

The thing is, I don’t know if I’m sane any longer.

Truthfully, the argument can be made that I never was – plenty have expressed doubts, and I, myself, have been torn on the issue. The trouble is really one of definitions:  how is sanity defined? By whom is that definition put forward? How many competing definitions are there? Which should I accept?

There is, for instance, the idea that sanity is the ‘normal’ state of man … the way ‘most’ people are, most of the time. I have a problem with that definition because, among other things, it’s pretty freaking vague, and also because I simply can’t comprehend ‘most’ people! Take political views, for instance:  about half of the people in this country have very Conservative, Right-Wing views … the idea that their attitudes toward morality, religion, and sexuality, should be imposed on the rest of the of the population of the country (and, if they had their way, the rest of the world), and that this constitutes ‘Freedom’, ‘Liberty’, ‘Patriotism’, and ‘The American Way”.

I think those attitudes are complete and utter Bull-Shit.  How is it, in any way, Patriotic, Liberating, or enforcing Freedom to decide that people who love members of their own gender shouldn’t be allowed to marry? How is it the American Way to declare that women shouldn’t have access to birth control, or should be forced to carry a baby to term? In what way is Freedom achieved by declaring that students can’t read textbooks that include Evolution? That teen-agers shouldn’t have access to condoms? That Freedom of religion should be limited to Christians only? That the right to defend oneself with a firearm means people should have access to military-grade weaponry designed to kill people in great swaths?

Obviously, I disagree with all of those notions, so who is sane? The people who actually buy into those ideas, or me, who finds them nonsensical on their face?

The current leader of the Party that embraces all of these ideas, and many others, equally unpalatable to me, nevertheless claims he’s going to unite all of America, despite the fact that he’s deeply alienated women, black people, Latinos, the entire GLBT community, and the 47% of America that he’s expressed complete and utter disdain for – a group that includes your retired parents and grand-parents, anyone with a disability, Students going to college with government assistance, veterans receiving benefits, and, in fact, virtually everyone not wealthy enough to own their own business.

Sane????

Well, maybe politics is a world unto itself and shouldn’t enter into discussions of sanity. Sanity is a matter of medicine, after all, is it not?

Umm … actually, no, it’s not:  ‘sanity’ is not a medical term, it’s a legal one. Actually, “sanity” is an English term expressing two legal ideas, expressed in Latin as compos mentis, and non compos mentis. They basically refer to someone who is in possession of rationality, and the ability to distinguish reality from fantasy – and those who are not.  In English law, for ages the guiding idea was whether a person was able to understand the nature and consequences of their actions …

Oh, dear. That set of definitions doesn’t bode well for conservatives, either! Referring again to Mitten’s vow to unite America, despite all the Americans he’s pissed-off:  that certainly reeks of non compos mentis!  The middle-class voters who support him, similarly, seem to lack a grasp of the nature and consequences of their  actions, given the fact that they expect the party that got us into this economic crisis, by massive military over-spending, and freaking immense tax-breaks for the ultra-wealthy, and big corporations, is going to somehow get us out of this crisis by, wait for it, more of the same

Sane????

Some facts for you, in case you’re struggling with this concept:  Romney specifically expressed contempt for all Americans who pay no Federal income-tax (including, as I mentioned, retirees, students, and the disabled), but strongly endorses every break he can think of for big corporations, like General Electric, which either net out to zero Federal Taxes, or actually get paid credits by the Government, instead of paying Federal Taxes.  It’s ok for huge multinational corporations to be tax-free, but disgusting for ordinary struggling people who paid into the system their whole lives … and he still claims to be for the people. And people still buy it.

Ok, look, I’m just going to stop with insulting implications and just go ahead and fucking say it:  THAT’S FUCKING CRAZY!!!!

Look, I have Bi-Polar II Disorder. It’s a physical disorder of the brain that makes it tough for me to deal with my emotions, and sometimes makes it hard for me to keep my grip on the difference between reality and fantasy – especially when I can’t afford access to a doctor to prescribe medications that could stabilize me, and can’t afford to fill my prescriptions if I had them. I’m ill, and my sanity is in question.

Romney supporters, I have one question for you: what the fuck is your excuse????

Seriously, what’s your problem with Obama, that you’d embrace a guy who holds most of you in contempt, represents the policies that drove one of the most robust economies in the world into the shitter, and flip-flops on every issue asked about, depending on who he’s talking to at the time, on video, then barefacedly lies about it after the fact?  How is it, in any way, indicative of your sanity to back a man who doesn’t seem to know that what he really said isn’t going to be on Fox News, but WILL be on CNN, and YouTube, for anyone to listen to?  It’s like a cop who’s video’d doing something brutal, and who then wants to claim, first, “Well, I didn’t do that”, then, when confronted with the film, “Well, ok, yes, I did that, but I didn’t mean it”, then, when enough time has gone by, and your freaking attention span has waned, “Actually, I was the victim in that” …

SANE????

Ok, maybe I’m going too far. Maybe Romney’s fans aren’t actually insane. Maybe that’s a cruel and cynical label that I shouldn’t be applying. I’m not perfect. I can make mistakes. Mea Culpa

Maybe they’re just too ignorant to be able to actually break things down for themselves … so let me help:

When conservatives champion legislation that limits the rights of Gays and Lesbians, Women, Retirees, the Middle-Class, Immigrants, Blacks, and Latinos, they are not advancing the rights of ANY of their supporters. Not Any. It does not advance anyone’s  rights to outlaw gay marriage. If you oppose homosexual lifestyle, fine, feel free to dislike it, condemn it, even pray for God to damn them for it – but it’s not hurting you in any way. It does you no harm to let them decide for themselves who to sleep with, who to love, who to marry. They aren’t any threat to you.

The same is true of women’s issues:  it does not harm you, or in any way detract from your rights, if women are free to use contraception, or terminate unwanted pregnancies. Not at all. You can claim to be for ‘Life’, but you probably eat beef and chicken and pork … “That’s different!” I can imagine you saying, “we’re for human life!” … except that there’s absolutely no evidence that a tiny cluster of cells has consciousness, thought, personality, or any other definable characteristic of human life, apart from it’s genetic code — the grown woman whose life you’re intruding upon, by contrast, has all of those things!  God himself does not intervene in this process: he doesn’t force us to adhere to any particular moral code, but leaves us free to make our own choices – and even when we make poor ones, he promises compassion. You, on the other hand, want to enforce your notion of morality on another – in exactly the way the freaking Taliban wants to enforce adherence to 9th century Islamic Law on people. Why is it wrong for them, but ok for you, Republicans?

How about Immigrants? Study, after study, after study has proven that immigrants don’t take jobs away from Americans – they do jobs Americans refuse to do. You din’t mind eating lettuce, but bitch that it was picked by someone born in Mexico? Really?

I could go on for hours, but, at this point, it’s very likely that I’m preaching to the Choir – not because I’ve persuaded anyone, but, most likely, because any of the people I was trying to convince have probably long since stopped reading this post.

For the rest of you, reflect on this: Liberal Politics expands peoples rights, without taking anything away from anyone. Conservative politics restricts the rights of some people while doing nothing at all to expand their own rights, freedoms, or standard of living.  There’s no benefit to their policies, none, except perhaps a sense of moral superiority – one which I’m convinced God himself will punish them for! You don’t believe me? Maybe you’ll believe Jesus:

“Then shall the King say unto them on his right hand, Come, ye blessed of my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world: For I was an hungred, and ye gave me meat: I was thirsty, and ye gave me drink: I was a stranger, and ye took me in: Naked, and ye clothed me: I was sick, and ye visited me: I was in prison, and ye came unto me. Then shall the righteous answer him, saying, Lord, when saw we thee an hungred, and fed thee? or thirsty, and gave thee drink? When saw we thee a stranger, and took thee in? or naked, and clothed thee? Or when saw we thee sick, or in prison, and came unto thee? And the King shall answer and say unto them, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me.

Then shall he say also unto them on the left hand, Depart from me, ye cursed, into everlasting fire, prepared for the devil and his angels: For I was an hungred, and ye gave me no meat: I was thirsty, and ye gave me no drink: I was a stranger, and ye took me not in: naked, and ye clothed me not: sick, and in prison, and ye visited me not. Then shall they also answer him, saying, Lord, when saw we thee an hungred, or athirst, or a stranger, or naked, or sick, or in prison, and did not minister unto thee? Then shall he answer them, saying, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye did it not to one of the least of these, ye did it not to me. And these shall go away into everlasting punishment: but the righteous into life eternal.” ~ Jesus Christ, Mathew 25:34-46

“Not every one that saith unto me, Lord, Lord, shall enter into the kingdom of heaven; but he that doeth the will of my Father which is in heaven. Many will say to me in that day, Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in thy name? and in thy name have cast out devils? and in thy name done many wonderful works? And then will I profess unto them, I never knew you: depart from me, ye that work iniquity.” ~ Jesus Christ, Mathew 7:21-23

But perhaps he wasn’t sane, either. Judge for yourselves. Or don’t – Jesus also warned us not to be judgmental, unless we were prepared to be judged just as critically, by the same standard. I’m prepared for that. Are you?

~ by dourscot on November 5, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
